Loading Events

« All Events

THE NIGHT OF THE 12TH / La Nuit du 12 (France/Belgium)

February 4 @ 10:00 am to approx. 12:30 pm

 

Just nominated for 10 César Awards, including France’s ‘Best Picture’

In nearly every police precinct, detectives are inevitably confronted with a case that, for one reason or another, goes unsolved. The more heinous the crime, the more it haunts those tasked to solve it. Such is the case for Yohan Vivès—a young, recently promoted police Captain—when he begins investigating the murder of a young women named Clara in the town of Grenoble. Vivés’ team methodically dig through the details of Clara’s life. Several suspicious ex-boyfriends are questioned, but neither solid evidence nor a confession manifest. As the mystery behind Clara’s upsetting death deepens, a frustrated Vivés is forced to reflect on society’s prejudices against female victims—as well as his own.

A box-office sensation in France and based on Pauline Guéna’s non-fiction book, 18.3 – Une année à la PJ, Dominik Moll’s Cannes-selected seventh feature is a gritty procedural in the vein of David Fincher’s Mindhunter and Zodiac. With a critical eye cast specifically on the male-dominated world of law enforcement and how investigations of violent crimes committed against women are conducted, The Night of the 12th is “both highly effective and brilliantly acted, where procedures and mindsets reveal a frayed society,” (Cineuropa).

  • Genre:  Crime, Mystery, Thriller
  • Run Time:  115 min
  • Country:  Belgium & France
  • Language:  French
  • Premiere:  Palm Springs
  • Director: Dominik Moll
  • Writers:  Pauline Guéna (book ‘18.3 – Une année à la PJ’) Gilles Marchand (screenplay) Dominik Moll (screenplay)
  • Principal Cast: Bastien Bouillon, Bouli Lanners, Anouk Grinberg, Mouna Soualem, Pauline Serieys
  • Based on the Novel by: Pauline Guéna

Details

Date:
February 4
Time:
10:00 am to approx. 12:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organizer

Desert Film Society
Email:
info@desertfilmsociety.com
Website:
www.desertfilmsociety.org

Venue

Historic Camelot Theatre @ the Palm Springs Cultural Center
2300 E Baristo Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262 United States
+ Google Map